Japan’s foreign minister meets with ambassadors of 4 Eastern European countries

The Yomiuri Shimbun
Japanese Foreign Minister Yoshimasa Hayashi, center, and ambassadors of four Eastern European countries exchange greetings before their meeting at the Foreign Ministry on Thursday.

Japanese Foreign Minister Yoshimasa Hayashi met with ambassadors of four Eastern European countries — Hungary, Slovakia, the Czech Republic and Poland — at the Foreign Ministry in Tokyo on Thursday. Hayashi and the ambassadors strongly condemned Russia’s military invasion of Ukraine and agreed to cooperate closely in providing assistance to displaced people.

Hayashi praised the four countries, known as the Visegrad Group (V4), for accepting a large number of Ukrainian refugees and thanked them for supporting the evacuation of Japanese nationals in Ukraine.

Hayashi explained that Japan would provide $100 million (about ¥11.8 billion) in emergency humanitarian assistance to the refugees and others, and the ambassadors expressed their gratitude for the assistance.