Japan Elected UNSC Nonpermanent Member for 12th Time

REUTERS File Photo
The Security Council chamber is seen from behind the Council President’s chair at the United Nations headquarters in New York City September 18, 2015.

New York (Jiji Press)—Japan was elected a nonpermanent member of the U.N. Security Council on Thursday, winning the seat for an unprecedented 12th time.

Japan will serve as a nonpermanent member for two years from Jan. 1, 2023, coming back to the powerful U.N. panel after its previous term in 2016-2017.

The country was the unified candidate for a nonpermanent Security Council seat allocated to the Asia-Pacific region in Thursday’s election to choose those replacing five outgoing nonpermanent members.

The Security Council is the only U.N. body that can make binding decisions on member states. It is composed of five permanent members—the United States, Britain, France, Russia and China—and 10 nonpermanent members.

The five permanent members are currently divided chiefly over Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

Late last month, a U.S.-led resolution to strengthen sanctions against North Korea following its launch of an intercontinental ballistic missile was vetoed by China and Russia.

Japan is expected to face difficult negotiations since it will join the Security Council at a time when the council has become dysfunctional.

“Japan will aim to maintain and strengthen the international order based on the rule of law, while cooperating in order for the UNSC to fulfill its expected role, through close communication and careful dialogue with other member states,” Foreign Minister Yoshimasa Hayashi said in a statement Friday Japan time.

“The world continues to face many conflicts and various challenges” including over the Ukrainian crisis, the statement said.

“Japan will continue to actively engage in UNSC reform and lead discussions” to strengthen the functions of the United Nations including the General Assembly, the statement added.

In addition to Japan, Mozambique, Ecuador, Malta and Switzerland were elected. The five will replace India, Kenya, Mexico, Ireland and Norway, whose terms as nonpermanent members will expire at year-end.

Half of the 10 nonpermanent members are replaced every year.