COVID measures likely to be extended in 13 prefectures

The government is expected to extend to March 6 in some areas quasi-emergency priority measures implemented in response to the spread of the omicron variant of the novel coronavirus.

The priority measures will be extended in 13 prefectures, including Tokyo, from their current end date of Feb. 13 in those areas. Kochi Prefecture will also be added to the areas where the measures are in force.

If a government subcommittee of experts on COVID-19 approves the extension on Thursday, an official decision is expected to be made at a government task force meeting on the same day.

The extension will apply to the prefectures of Gunma, Saitama, Chiba, Tokyo, Kanagawa, Niigata, Gifu, Aichi, Mie, Kagawa, Nagasaki, Kumamoto, and Miyazaki. The priority measures will be applied in Kochi Prefecture from Saturday through March 6.